I’m Still Here!

So, it’s been awhile since my last blog. 3 months to be exact- but what can I say? I’ve been a busy woman! We got a lot of beautiful warm sun this summer and I spent every waking moment I could sitting at the picnic table crocheting, talking with good company or just watching the kids play. My nice tan can even prove it 😉 But now, the warm days are soon to be gone and is now being replaced with crisp mornings of bitter cold, leaves falling to the ground and leaving branches bare. Winter is almost here.

BUT- I’d like to take a moment to re-live the past few months with a few photos…who am I kidding? A lot of photos!

Let’s start with this little guy. He was living in the birdhouse at my Dad’s. I wish I was there the day he finally used his wings and ‘flew the coop’ .

Image

“Myeah, see? Myeah.”

We went to D.E.W. Animal Kingdom & Sanctuary for my birthday. We all really enjoyed checking out all the animals. Tank loved the ducks and chickens. He would try and follow where ever they went. Bawking at them! LOL

Image

I’ve never seen a white peacock before. Interesting to say the least!

Image

“I like to Move It, Move It” —Now that song will be stuck in your head too!

camel Collage

I’m sorry, but there was no ‘enjoy’ing that sound! But glad to see it’s all natural for the horny camel 😉

DSCN9610

Of course I had my traditional chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting! Yuuummmmy!!

August was a great month- but I couldn’t wait for it to be over. School was starting and then we were gearing up for a 4 day camping trip to Hermit Island. Pictures to follow…

DSCN9905 DSCN9626

Our sunflowers we planted!

Jayden was so excited to be a second grader! New shoes and new backpack of course!

DSCN9743 DSCN9738

My child and her “style” …Love her!

So…finally on to Hermit Island. We stuck Tank in his pack-in-play while we set up camp. I think he was enjoying the view…what do you think 😉

DSCN9906 DSCN9947

I’ve never been able to actually explore the island and get the photos I wanted- but this year was different. I watched my first sunrise on Saturday morning…

DSCN0032

DSCN0045

DSCN0087

We took a morning trip down to Sailboat beach. One of the 8 beaches on the island. Tank decided he was going to run on the seaweed- straight for the ocean! I had already taken my sandals off on the beach to enjoy the sand and now I’m running through seaweed hoping and praying for no crabs out and ready for attack mode….Was not fun. At all!

DSCN0122

My toes WERE enjoying the sand…

We did a lot over the coarse of 4 days. Searched for sea life and walked the trails. Spent mornings and some evenings on the beach. Or just sat around the campfire listening to some good ol’ tunes. The weather was perfect. Not hot, but not cold.

DSCN0188 DSCN0260

The deer are used to campers. So they pretty much stay put and enjoy themselves while you observe them. Any sudden move will still startle them though. Amazing right?

Sunday evening we went to Sailboat beach again to explore and watch the sunset. It was really windy, but made for a perfect evening to finish our trip.

DSCN0369 DSCN0353

Maine is beautiful.

DSCN0379 DSCN0387

Pushing the sun down…

DSCN0393

Monday morning I got up before anyone. Grabbed my camera and ran down to the edge of the campsite and watched my second sunrise. This one more perfect than the first. Really made me want to just stay and not go home. I’m already preparing myself for next years trip!

DSCN0415 DSCN0444

DSCN0429 DSCN0489

Hermit Island, Phippsburg, Maine ❤

Leave a Reply

